Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for April, 2019

Time for Action

Rep. Timm Ormsby, Chairman of the House Appropriations Committee,  announced at the beginning of this afternoon’s hearing the Committee would not be hearing any other bills not yet scheduled before the legislative cut-off.  If he holds to that SSB 5354 and many other bills with wide legislative support will die. These are bills that members want to hear and that are funded in the Senate budget, including SSB 5354  We need EVERYONE to put pressure on all Appropriations members.  We also need legislators to get to Rep. Ormsby to ask him for a hearing.

Suggested talking points:

  • Legislators have required school districts to ensure equitable access to highly capable services
  • There are currently too many artificial barriers to access
  • SSB 5354 HELPS schools utilize best practices to evaluate students.  It improves highly capable programs through professional development
  • SSB 5354 has received strong bipartisan support, including unanimous support on the Senate floor and in the House Education Committee
  • School districts need help and students need to have an appropriate education

We’ve previously received messages of support from these members on the House Appropriations Committee:

Rep. Steve Bergquist
Rep. Michelle Caldier
Rep. Laurie Dolan – Vice Chair on Education
Rep. Zack Hudgins
Rep. Vicki Kraft
Rep. Tana Senn
Rep. Mike Steele – Ranking Republican on Education
Rep. Pat Sullivan
Rep. Gael Tarleton

We need you to contact them all again RIGHT NOW and urge them to ask Rep. Ormsby for a hearing. Their email addresses follow:

steve.Bergquist@leg.wa.gov, michelle.Caldier@leg.wa.gov, laurie.Dolan@leg.wa.gov, zack.hudgins@leg.wa.gov, vicki.Kraft@leg.wa.gov, tana.Senn@leg.wa.gov, mike.Steele@leg.wa.gov, pat.sullivan@leg.wa.gov, gael.tarleton@leg.wa.gov

The members of the House Education Committee members should also be contacted and urged to ask Rep. Ormsby for a hearing. Their email addresses follow:

SharonTomiko.Santos@leg.wa.gov, laurie.Dolan@leg.wa.gov, dave.Paul@leg.wa.gov, mike.steele@leg.wa.gov, bob.McCaslin@leg.wa.gov, mike.Volz@leg.wa.gov, steve.Bergquist@leg.wa.gov, michelle.Caldier@leg.wa.gov, lisa.Callan@leg.wa.gov, chris.Corry@leg.wa.gov, paul.Harris@leg.wa.gov, christine.Kilduff@leg.wa.gov, vicki.Kraft@leg.wa.gov, lillian.Ortiz-Self@leg.wa.gov, skyler.Rude@leg.wa.gov, monica.Stonier@leg.wa.gov, My-Linh.Thai@leg.wa.gov, javier.Valdez@leg.wa.gov, alex.Ybarra@leg.wa.gov

It only takes a minute, but without your action RIGHT NOW, there will be no tomorrow for SSB 5354.

Read Full Post »

%d bloggers like this: